Martin Luther

Commenting on Scientology, Inside and Outside the Church

With Respect To Ron

Manners

Maybe it’s just me. I grew up in the South of the U.S.A. In the South, manners are particularly important. We’re schooled in them from an early age. If you consider manners long enough, they mostly come down to respect. In the South you show the same respect to anyone, regardless of who they are, until they do something to lose that respect. This is deeply ingrained in the South and goes back hundreds of years.

That’s not to say that Southerners don’t pre-judge people. I do. I see a picture of someone and I form an instant opinion of that person. But I keep that opinion in reserve. I’m fully aware I could be wrong. So when I finally meet that person, I treat them with the same respect with which I’d treat anyone else. Until convinced to do otherwise by the words or conduct of that person.

There are people who deserve special consideration in the manners department: your elders, women, people in authority and people of great accomplishment. Even children deserve a certain respect as beings with small bodies who are struggling with the burden of figuring out a lot of confusing stuff in a short time period.

By the way, race, religion, sexual preference and ethnicity don’t figure in to respect, regardless of what you may have been told about the South. Yes, there are pockets of prejudice, particularly among older Southerners. But in the main, good manners rule.

You may occasionally find friction between people from the South and those from the North. A great deal of that comes down to manners. Manners are not as acutely important to Northerners. Southerners consequently often consider them generally ill-mannered. Particularly when they move down here and then complain, “That’s not the way we do it up North”. Well, you’re in the South now. Learn to do it our way and don’t complain. It’s rude. You’re a guest here. Learn how to act like a good one. (This could be considered part of the Non-Existence formula as conceived of in the South.)

Good and bad manners are contagious. That’s why I generally avoid people who appear to be ill-mannered. I don’t want their contagion in my space.

Again, manners generally come down to respect. A sane person does not treat a complete stranger like a dog. You reserve that for later, when they’ve proven they don’t deserve your respect, by their words and actions.

L. Ron Hubbard

L. Ron Hubbard (or “Ron” as he preferred to be called) assembled a body of wisdom the likes of which appear nowhere else in this universe. Some of it was culled from earlier work, but much if not most of it was developed or discovered out of Ron’s experience and scientific research.

Ron accomplished what he did in a very short span of time. And he did it, not to get rich or become famous. He was already famous, and he could have made a lot more money as just a writer. Instead, he acted as an explorer, exploring areas which had mostly been abused or attacked down through history.

But none of that really matters. Believe what you like. If you’ve ever gotten case gain from Scientology tech, it’s because of Ron. It’s your gain, and you made it yourself. But without this Tech, you wouldn’t have made that gain.

LRH certainly belonged to the so-called “elders” for most of us. And he certainly belonged to the group of those who could be considered “people of great accomplishment”.

Accordingly, he deserves our respect.

But that’s not what I see throughout much of cyberspace when it comes to Ron. His name is dragged through the dirt as much or more than any villanous historical figure I know of. Any time I see a blogger refer to Ron as “Hubbard” or ElRon, I know exactly what I’m in for. I need read no further. There’s a load of muck destined for Ron’s head. It’s virtually axiomatic.

Of course, I/we can complain about the disrespect heaped on Ron all we want. It’s originated by people who have their own axes to grind. It’s originated by people who fundamentally don’t understand what Scientology is, people who have undisclosed harmful acts and are withholding them, and people who are wholly evil (“suppressive persons”).

Personally, regardless of what I think Ron did or didn’t do, he founded Scientology and originated the Tech. For that alone, he deserves my undying respect. I think he deserves yours too.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “With Respect To Ron

  1. Cooldude on said:

    I agree!

  2. Great article.I have alot more than just respect for Ron, I have undying gratitude. I have been auditing for over 40 years and as a result lives have been saved, marriages saved etc. My life was saved!! All done just using Standard Tech. I very unapologetically put him on a much deserved pedestal.

Leave a Reply

