Martin Luther

Commenting on Scientology, Inside and Outside the Church

What’s Wrong With The Independent Field, Part 6: Homosexuality

This could also go under the heading “What’s Wrong With the Church of Scientology”, but that’s a whole other story. I’m putting it under the current category because I’ve heard more about it now than I ever heard when I was in the Church 25 years ago. Also, I do not want to engage in a political discussion of this topic. I’ll leave the politics of homosexuality to the political blogs.

It has been widely said in the Independent Field that Ron’s statements on homosexuality are obviously based on the mentality of people in the 1950s, when LRH first wrote about it. This statement is not only disrespectful, it’s not true.

First, Ron didn’t write a significant amount about homosexuality. His statements on the subject appear primarily in Dianetics The Modern Science Of Mental Health and Science Of Survival. Why? Because it was not a big issue at the time. It still isn’t.

Second, Ron’s statements on the subject stem from actual research. When Ron put together the Chart of Human Evaluation from Science of Survival, he observed the behavior of humans and coordinated his observations with positions on the Tone Scale. At the particular spot on the chart where homosexuality occurs, you will also find other items, such as promiscuity and pedophilia. Not coincidentally, if you carefully observe all parts of the homosexual community, you will also find those activities more pronounced than they are in the remainder of humanity. This is not a matter of opinion or cultural bias. It is a matter of observation.

It should also be pointed out that placing someone at a given point on the Tone Scale involves not just one trait. There is an abundance of columns on the Chart of Human Evaluation. In order to place someone on the Tone Scale, it is necessary to use the whole chart, not just one column. So finding that someone is homosexual (one column) does not automatically place them at covert hostility (or below). One must see several or a majority of columns clustered at the same tone level.

Let’s be clear. Homosexuality is not normal. If it were, the majority of humans would be gay (the current acceptable euphamism for homosexuality). For that matter, neither is left-handedness. Keep that statement in mind.

Homosexuality could arise from two different places. First, gender confusion. A thetan spends lifetime after lifetime as one gender, and suddenly this lifetime, for whatever reason, ends up as a different gender. The thetan could potentially be confused by this situation, and dissatisfied with (or even under protest about) the gender he or she finds himself or herself in this lifetime. This could obviously cause its own set of problems, quite in addition to whatever other forces are at work in a case. Second, homosexuality can arise from aberration. Such aberration could be engramic, a result of service facsimiles, false purposes, or any of a number of other causes. I’ve personally seen homosexuality arise as a direct result of rape in more than one person. Additionally, you will find some homosexuals who express in their behavior extremes of the opposite of their biological sex. These would be the extremely effeminate man or the extremely masculine woman. This usually also accompanies an OCA where the person is “down on the left”. These people are out of valence, which is clearly an aberrated condition.

Now, have you ever heard of a “Homosexual Rundown” designed to “cure” homosexuality? No? Why not? Because in any given case, homosexuality may not stem from an auditable condition. And in any given case, if homosexuality does stem from some auditable aberration, it should yield to standard auditing.

Let me draw a sort of parallel. My daughter’s teen years were particularly troublesome for us as parents. And I often wondered, as troublesome as teens often are, why isn’t there some action or rundown particularly targeted at them? I finally concluded that the reason Ron had almost nothing to say about teens and no special rundown for them, had to be because their condition must yield to standard auditing actions. At that point, I started to try to categorize teen problems by what part of the tech might apply to them. My conclusion (with which you’re free to disagree) was that the most important piece of technology influencing teen bad behavior was O/W. Outside of drug use or other more pronounced phenomena, the behavior of wayward teens most closely resembles someone who has masses of overts and withholds stuck to them. One way I confirmed this for myself was that I never went through a troublesome period with my parents. Coincidentally, I took care as a teenager to follow my parents rules (with which I mainly agreed), even when they weren’t around.

My point here is that if there is anything to be audited for a homosexual, it should be covered by standard auditing actions. And if a given case of homosexuality doesn’t “yield” to standard auditing, perhaps there’s nothing there to audit.

The next question may be this: Say a person’s homosexuality does stem from some aberration, and they get standard auditing which resolves the original confusion or painful experience which triggered it. Yet they remain homosexual. Ron discusses this indirectly when he talks about the “cleared cannibal”. Someone who is educated as a cannibal or immersed in a cannibalistic culture, may still persist in cannibalism, despite auditing. This is not aberration. It is simply an environmental condition and part of the complexity of a being.

One last point: persecution of homosexuals. Ask yourself, from all your reading of LRH, can you imagine him condoning the persecution of homosexuals? Did Ron condone the harassment of drug addicts, southpaws, people with acne scars from their teen years, or those who preferred chocolate ice cream over vanilla? I never heard of it, if he did. From my knowledge of LRH, I don’t believe he would have encouraged the automatic harassment of anyone (except maybe psychs [joke]).

As I’ve done before, let me point out that I am not trying to set myself up as Source here. LRH is and always will be Source. Nothing I’ve said here involves “new” technology, a hidden data line or some other practice. It is simply what I consider a rational application of the Technology to a particular issue. Had Ron lived longer, perhaps he would have addressed this issue in more detail. But I suspect if he did, the above is approximately the approach he would have taken. You’re free to disagree.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “What’s Wrong With The Independent Field, Part 6: Homosexuality

  1. Foremost on said:

    Most excellent article.

    Thank you.

    • dan on said:

      I concur with what you say about troublesome teenagers.
      I was such a person. In high school, I skipped class a lot, drank, did drugs, occasionally got in trouble with the police (though not seriously).
      Perhaps my rebelousness brought me into Scientology in 1975. My parents would never have approved.
      My first auditing action was life repair. The biggest wins I got was getting off overts-mostly on them.
      Amazingly, I discovered they were really good people and that I truely loved them in spite of my natter.
      It suprised my parents that when I started doing Scientology, I became much more respectful and appreciative of them. We actually became very good friends.
      Anyway, that was auditing in the ’70’s and ’80’s.
      I haven’t seen this with golden age of tech.

      • Unfortunately, I’m admin-trained, not tech-trained. So I haven’t audited any teenagers to find out if my “theory” is correct. You provide an anecdotal confirmation of the theory. Someday I’ll get tech trained and then maybe I’ll know for sure. Anyway, thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

